CWRU MSTP Steering Committee

The MSTP Steering Committee currently consists of faculty members from various basic science and clinical departments. The committee meets monthly and oversees program operation. The MSTP Steering Committee members are also directly involved with the selection and evaluation of the MSTP candidates. The Steering Committee makes admission decisions that are honored by the Graduate School and the School of Medicine.

The committee approves the selection of PhD thesis advisors and PhD thesis committees, and it reviews academic and research performance of MSTP trainees. Steering Committee members are also mentors and role models for the MSTP students and are always willing to respond to students' needs or questions via e-mail, phone, or drop-in visits.

MSTP students should choose one of the basic science representatives to the Steering Committee to be a member of their PhD Thesis Committee.

CWRU MSTP Steering Committee
Basic Science Representatives

Committee Member PhD Programs
Abbott, Derek Immunology, Cancer Biology
Adams, Drew Genetics & Genome Sciences
Dubyak, George Physiology and Biophysics, Pharmacology, Immunology
Durand, Dominique Biomedical Engineering, Neurosciences, Physiology and Biophysics
Exner, Agata Biomedical Engineering
Fairchild, Robert Immunology
Harding, Clifford Immunology, Cell Biology, Pharmacology, Biochemistry
Huang, Alex Cancer Biology
Jankowsky, Eckhard Biochemistry
Levine, Alan Pharmacology, Cell Biology, Pathology: Cancer Biology, Immunology
MacDonald, Paul Pharmacology
Philippidou, Polyxeni Neurosciences
Rietsch, Arne Molecular and Microbiology
Silver, Jerry Neurosciences
Spilsbury, James Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Clinical Translational Science
Stein, Catherine

Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Systems Biology and Bioinformatics, Clinical Translational Science

Taylor, Derek Pharmacology, Biochemistry
Tesar, Paul Genetics and Genome Sciences, Neurosciences

Steering Committee Clinical Representative

Debra Leizman, MD, Assistant Professor, General Internal Medicine, and Director, MSTP Clinical Tutorial

Steering Committee MD Admissions Representative

Christian Essman, Director of Admissions, School of Medicine